Page 1 of 1

Harmony line

Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 11:50 pm
by RogerG
Well this is probaby a FAQ but I cannot find it: can I enter a tune with a harmony line, keeping bars in step?

(OK, I would like to have "guitar" chords too, but I think I know how to do that)

Roger

Re: Harmony line

Posted: Fri May 28, 2010 8:07 am
by cwalshaw
You want multiple voices.

Take a look at this tutorial http://www.lesession.co.uk/abc/abc_extensions.htm#voices. Most abc software does it now (e.g. abcm2ps is specifically designed for multiple voices and, for example, AbcExplorer is built around abcm2ps).

Chris

Re: Harmony line

Posted: Fri May 28, 2010 5:37 pm
by RogerG
Many thanks, Chris: that looks like just what I need.

I had picked up the first two parts of Steve's tutorial but missed the third part. Can I suggest putting a pointer into the FAQ (even if this is a once-asked question) under harmony to guide seekers to the section on voices?

Cheers, Roger