ABC to PNG

For discussing abc notation software
feste
Humanity check: a real person
How many letters in "spam" (4)?: 3

ABC to PNG

Postby feste » Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:46 pm

Newbie here, [albeit 64 with a 40 year old music degree] so appologies if this is the wrong place.

Q: how can I convert ABC notation to good quality PNGs? Must I get to grips with abcm2ps and ghostscript? or is there a simpler solution? I currently use EasyABC which I find excellent; simple, intuitative [to use! did not require me to r.t.f.m], produces instant notation, plays midi, transposes etc but seems only to output an ABC file in which I can't find separate images stored.

I want a PNG because they re-size automatically and well in Word and other documents and are mostly clear, good quality images. Those generated by abcnotation.com are excellent but I usually want to edit, transpose etc the underlying notation so usually can't use them. The PNGs generated by folkinfo.org are little better than jpegs for some weird reason and JPEG is the only output from concertina.net. 'Not good enough' as far as I am concerned means zigzaggy beams as in the image.

Thanks for any help, advice.

sample-abc-images.jpg
sample-abc-images.jpg (62.87 KiB) Viewed 3455 times

Jon Freeman

Re: ABC to PNG

Postby Jon Freeman » Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:26 pm

folkinfo pngs are only intended as drafts for onscreen display. If you want an image format rather than a pdf and can use it, try the svg output.

I disagree with you and pngs scaling. Your software may be doing a reasonable job but png is a raster graphic and is likely to get blocky when you enlarge it. svg on the other hand is a vector graphic and should scale well.

Jon Freeman

Postby Jon Freeman » Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:39 pm

And on production of the images.